SCHOOL BOARD

Dr. Sayyah Ajlouni - Chairperson

Sr. Razia Abdallah

Dr. Fareed Hasan

Principal:

Sr. Sophia Shalash (sshalash@dis4u.org):

Please click on the Principal Info tab for more information.

 

Superintendent

Shaad Ahmed (sahmed@dis4u.org)

Br. Shaad served as principal for the past 9 years and has over 12 years of teaching experience as well.

 

Front Office

Dunia Jamal Afana, Office Manager (dafana@dis4u.org) -

Sr. Dunia has been with the school for over 9 years now and is known by all in the school!

Elementary School

​Messidah Farraj, Preschool (mfarraj@dis4u.org)

Sr. Messidah has been with the school for over 7 years and has been helping the preschoolers getting ready for kindergarten.

Abeer Abu Helal, Preschool/KG  (abeer@dis4u.org)

Sr. Abeer has been with the school for 6 years and has helped the preschool and kindergarten students learn Arabic, surahs from the Quran and the basics of Islam.

​Allison Wiser, Kindergarten (awiser@dis4u.org)

This is Ms. Allison's 11th year at DIS. She initially taught preschool and has now switched to teaching kindergarten.

Ann Sobhy, First Grade (asobhy@dis4u.org)

This is Sr. Ann's 5th year at DIS and she has spent them all teaching 1st grade.

Hanan Saleh, Teacher Aid (hsaleh@dis4u.org)

This is Sr. Hanan's 6th year at DIS and she has been called on to assist various classes.

Kathy Deutsch, Second Grade (kdeutsch@dis4u.org)

This is Mrs. Deutsch's 11th year at the school all of which have been teaching 2nd grade.

Angela Rowe, Third Grade (arowe@dis4u.org)

This is Ms. Angela's third year at DIS. She previously worked at the Horizon school and is involved with an after-school tutoring program as well.

Andrew Ferrell, Fourth Grade (aferrell@dis4u.org)

This is Mr. Ferrell's first year at DIS. He has worked with students of various grade levels in the past and is ready for 4th grade this year!

Hedaya Daoud, Fifth Grade (hedaya@dis4u.org)

This will be Sr. Hedaya's second year at DIS. She is an alumnus of DIS and graduated from Ohio State.

Middle School Subject Teachers

Cameron Price, Math and Science (cprice@dis4u.org)

This is Mr. Price's second year at DIS. He received his bachelor's degree from Wright State University in Middle Childhood Education concentrating in Mathematics and Science.

Alexander Gorman, ELA and Social Studies (agorman@dis4u.org)

This is Mr. Gorman's first year at DIS. He has a bachelor's in creative writing and philosophy, a master's in philosophy and is finishing his PhD in philosophy. 

Islamic Studies/Quran/Arabic

 

Ruquiyah Islam (rislam@dis4u.org)

 

This is Sr. Ruquiyah's 10th year at DIS and she previously was the principal for the part-time school. She teaches Islamic Studies 5th through 8th grades and Quran to middle school students.

Durdana Begum (durdana@dis4u.org)

Sr. Durdana has been involved at DIS for more than 7years. This year she is teaching 3rd grade Islamic Studies in addition to helping with preschool.

Arwa Saleh (arwa@dis4u.org)

This is Sr. Arwa's 11th year at DIS. She is teaching Arabic and Quran as she has done through out her years at DIS.

Safia Elsabagh (safia@dis4u.org)

Sr. Safia has been with DIS for 8 years. She is teaching Islamic Studies in addition to teaching Arabic to elementary and middle school.

Enas Musleh (enas@dis4u.org)

This is Sr. Enas' 4th year at our school and is teaching Arabic and Quran to elementary and middle school students.

Ahlam Hamdan (ahlam@dis4u.org)

Sr. Ahlam has been with the school for around 17 years. She is teaching Arabic as well as Quran to elementary and middle school. She is also leading the after school hifdh program.

Ghada Shtaieh (gshtaieh@dis4u.org)

This is Sr. Ghada's 6th year at the school. This year she is teaching Quran and Arabic to various classes.

Liali Hamed (lhamed@dis4u.org)

Sr. Liali has previously helped with the school in different capacities. This year she will in Sha Allah help with Arabic, salat and lunch/recess.

Nermine Eid (neid@dis4u.org)

This is Sr. Nermine's first year at DIS and she will be teaching Quran. She has been involved in the school as a volunteer for many years prior to this year.

Maintenance

Gani Pepa (gani@dis4u.org)

"Coach" has been with the school for almost 17 years and keeps the school clean and the students physically fit.